About EvSOP

Old fashioned desk with ring binder and pencil

What is the EvSOP Playbook?

The mission of the Environmental Services Optimization Playbook (EvSOP©) Program is multi-faceted. It provides programs designed to support reliable standardization of evidence-based practices for environmental cleaning and disinfection of healthcare, hospitality, and other industries to improve the lives and work environments of people.

The EvSOP© Playbook is provided at no cost and is an Internet-available, self-directed, multi-disciplinary program which does not endorse products by brand name, but will recommend product types based upon independent scientific testing outcomes. EvSOP© recommends the training and leadership guidelines of many forward-thinking healthcare organizations and allied organizations. EvSOP© recommendation of the expertise of such organizations is not an implied or expressed endorsement or affiliation with any organization.

Patient in clinic

The EvSOP Vision

The vision of EvSOP© is to assist in the collaborative improvement of healthcare delivery. Improvements in healthcare environmental services and infection prevention department operations, patient environments, and patient outcomes based upon the healthcare industry best practices, results from scientific research and endeavor. Implementation of environmental services and infection prevention practices, to the greatest extent possible, in other non-healthcare sectors will have a direct benefit to them. EvSOP© promotes the development of a professional mindset for continuous readiness and adaptations to meet management, staff, and customer needs and expectations.

EvSOP© will accomplish its mission and fulfill its vision by providing practical, employee-centered, and outcomes-based information and training that emanates from scientific research.

The EvSOP Purpose

The primary purpose of EvSOP© is to support reliable design (standardization of evidence-based practices) for environmental cleaning and disinfection in healthcare facilities -- in alignment with recognized and accepted industry standards -- to reduce the risk of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs).

cleaning surface
cleaning cart in hospital hallway

The EvSOP Project

This project will involve testing and enhancement of a Playbook designed to serve as a guide to improvement/enhancement of EVS processes and outcomes. After an initial self-assessment to identify facility specific opportunity areas, the Playbook will be used by each of the selected hospital/study sites over the course of three to six months for each.

The Playbook is a four-step improvement plan which begins with a self-assessment, and a kick-off meeting to engage all stakeholders, followed by regular team meetings to facilitate complete implementation of the Playbook tailored according to the specific self-assessment/gap analysis at each study site/hospital. At the end of the project for study site, an exit conference will be scheduled to review progress and plan for sustaining gains. An advisory panel will provide support for the hospital/study site and provide input on the Playbook. Where permitted, press releases will be planned in collaboration with the study sites. In addition, with input from all project members, and hospital contacts, conference presentations will be developed, in addition to submission of papers to peer-reviewed journals and trade journals. The Playbook will remain before, during and after the project, open access for all in environmental services and infection prevention communities.

EvSOP Main compressed

EvSOP Advisory Board

Aaron Jett, CMIP, T-CHEST/CSCT, CSP, VPEI, WACH; clinical solutions manager for Cintas Corporation

zeroinfectionsESOP@gmail.com

John Scherberger, BS, FAHE, T-CSCT, VPEI; principal and owner of Healthcare Risk Mitigation

jfscherberger@me.com

Paul J. Pearce, PhD; CEO of Nova Biologicals, Pearce Foundation for Scientific Endeavors

ppearce@novatx.com

EvSOP Advisory Council

Alicia Cole
mizcole2@aol.com

Allyson Luva, MSN, BSN, RN, CIC
aluva@llu.edu

Ashley Kelly, Kaiser
Ashley.R.Kelly@kp.org

Becky Walker, South Carolina Department of Health
beccarecca87@gmail.com

Bhushan Shelat, Stanford Medical Center
BShelat@stanfordhealthcare.org;

William Rutala, PhD, MPD, CIC
brutala@med.unc.edu

Buffy Lloyd-Krejci, DrPH, CIC, RN, IPC Well founder/owner
buffy@ipcwell.com

Caroline Haggerty, RN, MSN, MBA
Caroline.Haggerty@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Denise Graham, DDG & Associates
deniseagraham@gmail.com

Doe Kley, RN, CIC
doe.kley@gmail.com

Fabiola Demuth, MSN, RN, CIC, CMIP, Tennessee Department of Health
Fabiola.Demuth@tn.gov

Flash Fiegel, EVS divisional director, Common Spirit Health
Flash.Fiegel@DignityHealth.org

Hillary Feder, BS, MSA; founder/CEO, AskHillarys
hillary@askhillarys.com

Jake Poore, president, Integrated Loyalty Systems
jake.poore@wecreateloyalty.com

Jason Dunson, AdventHealth
DunsonJL@ah.org

Jeff Barna, director of support services, New York Presbyterian Hospital
jeb9264@nyp.org

Jenny Bender, CIC, infection preventionist
jenny.n.bender@gmail.com

Jim Gauthier, CIC, senior clinical advisor, Diversey
james.gauthier@diversey.com

Kay C. Carl, RN, BS, infection preventionist
kayccarl@aol.com

Keith H. St. John, MT(ASCP), MS, CIC, FAPIC; vice president of clinical affairs, PDI
Keith.StJohn@pdipdi.com

Kelly Griswold, regional training manager, Xanitos Inc.

Kelly M. Pyrek, editor and publisher, Healthcare Hygiene magazine and CEO of Keystone Media Inc.
kelly@healthcarehygienemagazine.com

Kim Delahanty, RN, BSN, PHN, MBA/HCM, CIC, FAPIC

Kirk Huslage, MSPH, BSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC

Lea Beach, T-CHEST, CHESP,,M-CSCT; EVS director, Mercy Health Janesville
lbeach@mhemail.org

Loretta Fauerbach, MS, FSHEA, CIC, Fauerbach & Associates Infection Prevention
loretta.fauerbach@icloud.com

Lori Grooms, system IP director, OSF Health
lori.a.grooms@osfhealthcare.org

Lynne Sehulster, PhD, M(ASCP), CMIP, health scientist/environmental infection prevention (Retired)
lm.sehulster@att.net

Maureen Spencer, MEd, BSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC
maureen_spncr@yahoo.com

Michael Ackerman, DNS, RN, FCCM, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN
ackerman.249@osu.edu

Michael Overcash, PhD; developer of national research program for life-cycle inventory and sustainability research
mrovercash@earthlink.net

Nicolas Abella, DNP, MBA, RN, CCRN; senior director of infection prevention, CHS
Nicolas_Abella@chs.net

Peter Harmon, BA; regional manager, Trinity Health
PETER.HARMON@trinity-health.org

Robert Hodnik
hodnikrm@gmail.com

Rebecca Pines
Pines.rebecca@epa.gov

Robert Rogers, Vanderbilt University Health
robert.rogers.1@vumc.org

Robert Tussey, T-CSCT, EVS system director, CSH
rtussey@stlukeshealth.org

Sara Townsend, CIC, MS-HQS; infection preventionist, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Townsends1@email.chop.edu

Scott Beaton, MBA, national manager, Kaiser Permanente
scott.c.beaton@kp.org

Sue Barnes, RN, CIC, FAPIC, consultant
sueabarnes@gmail.com

Syed A. Sattar, MSc, Dip. Bact, MS, PhD, RM (CCM), FAAM; professor emeritus, University of Ottawa
syed.sattar@uottawa.ca
syed.sattar@cremco.ca

Tanya Henry, MPH, BS, DrPHc
tanya@iconicoak.com;

Tim Livesay, system vice president of EVS, CommonSpirit Health
TimLivesay@catholichealth.net

Weidong Wu
Weidong.Wu@newellco.com